Upon a Distant Relative’s Funeral 

To be read listening to  the link above —- Portishead’s Half Day Closing 

Upon a Distant Relative’s Funeral 

Copyright by Ted Kouretas 

Grandma weeping in the background 

The sky opening up over her right shoulder 

Tranquility and tears sweep the air 

There was no widow to be seen
The mother and father side by side

“Take me with you ” the former cried out

The father ,  cap in hand ,  trying to flinch the tears away 

The eulogy had finished 
The shore was trying to catch up to the churchhouse 

But the graves seemed to keep it away 

It was a violent sea 

The sun finally got the courage to come out
The streets were a winter barren ,  save for the funeral attenders

The village people were either at the funeral or at home 

Their windows closed to keep the wind out 

It had been a savage winter . 
It had been a savage winter 

The tide reaching past the beach sands and into town 

And the winter had taken its victims 

This must’ve been the tenth funeral of someone not septuagenarian 

A chill went up my spine
I drove by that same barricade 

I stopped to look at the length of the fall

No more than 15 feet next to the ditch and down 

Hardly a sight of blood 

Most townsfolk thought it was deliberate 

But I had to see for myself 
Frantically ,  I drive towards the crash site 

But the wife’s brother honks at me to give him way 

He had also just left the funeral 

The rain and mist made it difficult to see 
On that day 

During the funeral 

The soullessness of the town choked me 

Not a weeper but for the immediates 

Everyone just  cuddling near their fireplaces 

But who can blame them ? 
It had been a savage winter . 

One thought on “Upon a Distant Relative’s Funeral 

  1. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.

    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

